Audio-book – “Getting More: How to Negotiate to Achieve Your Goals in the Real World”

I recently subscribed to a Audible.com account to kill time with some audio-books I can listen to during my almost everyday round trip Liège/Court-Saint-Etienne.

This time however, I want to take a pot shot… Audible.com was promoting one of the most popular audio-books severals weeks ago: “Getting More: How to Negotiate to Achieve Your Goals in the Real World” by Stuart Diamond. Appealing title, so after reviewing ratings (average almost 5 stars) and comments I decided to buy it. I spent about 1500 km in like 1,5 week, so about 18 hrs and 39 mins (I don’t know how much CO2) listening to my first purchase on Audible.com, to get rid of it!

My opinion: Telling many anecdotes is fine, it’s always good to hear some practical approaches but some of them are just too repetitive and systematic. Sometimes I had like 3 or 4 cases for one single “bullet point”. Finally “Getting More” is not getting less because it helps to review some good old sales techniques but I won’t give more than 2/5 as global rate.

If you ask me what instead? I would say “How to Master the Art of Selling Anything” by Tom Hopkins, much more sales oriented but also much more inspiring and exciting (thanks to @Chrisldr for this recommendation).😉

By the way, thanks to Michel Stoove who suggested me Audible.com on a question I posted on Google+, still a great website anyway.

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Audio-book – “Getting More: How to Negotiate to Achieve Your Goals in the Real World”

  1. barthox says:

    what about the user experience of being in a car, driving, and trying to focus on what’s being said in the book?

    • JeremC says:

      Quite same user experience as listening to the radio. I plug my mobile with a usb cable into the radio so I can get the sound from the speakers. Of course, sometimes a jerk distracts me but not enough to lose the main thread. B-)

Leave a Reply

